A space-time interlude

There’s been lots of travelling and reading and being with loved ones the past week, and sweltering under the warm humid air, almost as though I’m being baked alive in an oven….but I can’t resist the sweetness of digging out some old poems sent to me by a high school friend, tucked neatly in a tarnished little brown envelope within the pages of a childhood notebook, a poem which has ever since caught my imagination with its essential minimalism and sentiment:

O friend unseen, unborn, unknown,

Student of our sweet English tongue,

Read out my words at night, alone:

I was a poet, I was young.

Since I can never see your face,

And never shake you by the hand,

I send my soul through time and space

To greet you. You will understand.

James Elroy Flecker

~ by musafiremes on May 11, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
