Re-Search

I used to not know what to answer whenever my non-science non-graduate student friends asked me how I’m doing in “my studies”.

I do know, however, that about a third of the time of “my studies” is used to learn up mathematical tools that will be relevant to solve physical problems, and reading papers in order to obtain ideas to solve a particular physical problem, to inform myself of what others have contributed to the solution of the problem, and to see whether I can build up on what others have done. The next third of the time would be spent on thinking how to use those mathematical tools learned, in the particular problem that I wish to tackle and afterward, spent on cranking the machines, so that hopefully the last third of the time would be occupied by discoveries. Isn’t it true then that the statement by Richard M. Reis in “Tomorrow’s Professor: Preparing for Careers in Science and Engineering” (mentioned here) that, most of the time, a lot of research is re-search?

Speaking of which, I think here is the most comprehensive review on numerical relativity thus far, and here is something not usually talked about in the classical general relativity circles.

~ by musafiremes on June 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
